So, this year I decided that I would hone in on my baking skills in hopes that I would become the modern day version of the mother in the church who makes the best desserts in the whole city.

I am going to start baking every two weeks and I “officially” started this weekend by making a bourbon buttermilk pie. After making a red velvet cake a few weeks ago I needed to find something to make so that I could use the leftover buttermilk. I searched Pinterest (my google for baking) to find something that I could replicate and that is when I found the pie. I had never heard of it before, but it sounded so simple and there were so many versions of it! Of course I picked the one that had liquor in it because…I mean…it was bourbon.

*Here is the link to the original recipe: http://www.wellplated.com/bourbon-buttermilk-pie/ *

I took a few pictures of the process:

20160123_180446.jpg

20160123_182411.jpg
20160123_182840.jpg20160123_182837.jpg
20160123_193533.jpg20160123_193556.jpg

 

Turns out that my mom has had this pie before and guess who made them…THE MOTHERS IN THE CHURCH 😂😂😂😂. I legit might be turning into the dessert mother of the church. Except I just share whatever I make with my family, not the community.

Verdict: it was excellent and I am really trying to get up and workout instead of getting up and eating the last two pieces.

 

Until the next time…

-Muffy

 

*always remember to trust the process.

